What goes on a resume?

Humans have a need to categorize their experiences, and resumes are like a collection of past examples of your work. How can you bring it forward to help you get a great job?

Currently I feel my resume is not up to date. Yes, I do have my most current job listed on there; but at this point I have no idea how to format my resume or c.v. to truly benefit myself. My peers suggest many different items to add to my resume but refer to things that I’m not sure are resume worthy. However, I could be totally wrong!

Things that I think should definitely be listed on a resume:

  • Jobs
  • Volunteer Work
  • Internships
  • Education
  • Cool Awards

Things I think should go on a resume but not sure of:

  • Clubs and professional organizations
  • G.P.A.
  • Objective

Things people have mentioned that should go on a resume, but I’m not sure of:

  • Mentorship programs
  • Bloggy stuff (I seriously doubt this goes on a resume)
  • Holding officer positions at a student group

I’ve been advised to keep a running journal of what skills I have learned in each class so that I can translate it to a C.V. but I have yet to tackle that.  Another thing that I think I want to try to tackle is to make an online portfolio, as well as adding my resume so that a bunch of information about me can be easily found in one place. In general, resumes should be tailored for the job you’re applying for, so if I do put my resume online, I suppose I should just make a generalized one. I’m not looking for a job just yet, but I figure it doesn’t hurt to start organizing now.

 

3 thoughts on “What goes on a resume?

  1. I would say no to objectives and GPA.

    I have my CV organized by Education, Professional Experience, Volunteer Experience, Publications & Presentations, Professional Involvement (ie student groups, and ALA membership). Depending on the position I will also list technical skills at the bottom. I also have an online resume where I can post a “projects” section such as coursework or blog stuff. You can check it out at carolyncaffrey.weebly.com

    I find that I tailor my cover letter individually but my experience and skills stay the same so I haven’t switched up my CV.

  2. I would agree to not include objectives and GPA.

    Senior-level executives will bullet their skills at the top of their resumes (just under their name/contact header). Usually it is done using 2-3 columns. This may allow you to easily customize your resume and quickly communicate alignment with the organization’s needs. That written, I’m not sure how well decision-makers in academic or public organizations would receive such a structure.

  3. I think including your blog on your resume depends on what kind of blog it is. If it’s a professional blog about things related to libraries and/or your career, I would definitely include it. When I applied for the job I have now, I saw my blog as kind of an extensive cover letter and I tailored it to the job I was applying for. I made sure that there were clear links at the top to where my potential employees could see posts about programs I had done and reviews of children’s books.

    Also, I would include any blogging you have done as part of a professional organization, like contributing to the YALSA blog or 8bitlibrary.com or anything like that.

    However, if it’s a blog about your knitting or what you had for breakfast, I wouldn’t include that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

