Do It For You!

Today was the first time in a very long time that I just enjoyed something for just me. I’m a huge music fan (mostly indie and other random stuff) and I decided that today, I would indulge myself and listen to what makes me happy. About a year ago, my car stereo was stolen and I haven’t been able to replace it yet. I never thought that not listening to music, even the radio on my drive to school and work, would have an effect on me. I never considered the place that this thing that I enjoy had in my place. I often feel that at least for me, I put things I enjoy aside when I’m really busy. Let’s face it, we’re all busy, especially if you’re in grad school full-time and working. Life is crazy and there is always something you *should* be doing.

Last night I was talking with a friend and she asked me if I was a procrastinator. I had to say “yes” because it’s true. It’s not to say that I’m lazy though, I just take on so much at a time that I have to prioritize what I need to get done first. As library school students, we’re expected to do so much in order to have a chance at getting a job. Yes, it’s just a chance that someone might look at your resume and say “this person is qualified.” It’s a clear expectation that you have to do a million things to get experience and most of the time you’re not getting paid for it. To be honest, I think this can be really tiring, probably because I just hope that it will pay off. Experience goes a long way. However, working yourself to the bone and not taking time to just chill out is really dangerous. It’s just plain unhealthy. We all need outlets for ourselves. As a result, I put aside all the small wonders of life that I have grown to love. Forget creativity, forget taking walks, forget day dreaming. Alright, I still day dream all the time; but I realized today how much I’ve removed myself from doing what I love. I think it’s important for everyone to take some time out of the day for just themselves. Do something for you.

If you want to have a Party of One and dance in your room, go for it! If you want to write holiday cards and listen to music, GO FOR IT! A big part of my feeling burnt out is because I haven’t taken the time out this semester to just relax and do stuff for myself. I just hope that in the future I’ll be able to find a better balance. For those who have, I completely envy you.

And to get into the holiday mood and ENJOY something:
2 thoughts on “Do It For You!

  1. That’s definitely something that I struggled with in grad school. The worst part was when I would spend too much time playing some stupid facebook game because I needed to be at the computer working on a paper but didn’t want to write… When instead, I should have gone and done something fun with that time, and come back to the computer recharged.

    One of the best things about my job is that my boss is good at balancing and encourages us to do the same. Knowing that your boss will schedule her day to fit in a group bike ride makes it a lot easier to also leave right at 5:00 to make it to a class at the gym. And the dean of the library goes out to see live music at least one night every weekend, it seems — so if it’s a good band, I get to do something I enjoy and bond with the administration! I’m really lucky to have landed in this environment, because it would be really hard for me to find that balance if I didn’t have their examples.

    • I want to be more like your boss! Having a good balance is something that I’m struggling with. Even now that I’m on break, I still am thinking of things I want to work on outside of school. You sound like you work with a great group of people and I’m really happy for you too.

Leave a Reply

